History of the 7th Regiment Kentucky Infantry

The 7th Kentucky Infantry was formed in September, 1861 at Camp Burnett in Hickman County, Kentucky near Clinton. The unit was re-assigned in 1862 and then made mounted infantry under General Nathan Bedford Forrest in the spring of 1864.

The first commander was Colonel Charles Wickliffe, killed in action at the battle of Shiloh, Tennessee in April, 1862. The second commander was Colonel Edward Crossland. Other field officers included: Lt. Col. William D. Lannom, Lt. Col. L.J. Sherrill, Major Henry S. Hale, and Major W.J.N. Welborn.

The 7th Kentucky surrendered at Columbus, Mississippi on May 4, 1865.

Click on the links below for more history on the 7th Kentucky

Battles and Campaigns
Original Letters and Documents

Original Muster Rolls
Regimental Officers and Staff
Company A
Company B
Company C
Company D
Company E
Company F
Company G
Company H
Company I
Company K

Back to the 7th Kentucky Home: